Congresswoman Elaine Luria Honored with “Friend of Farm Bureau” Award

October 6, 2020
Press Release

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA — Today, Congresswoman Luria announced she has received the Friend of Farm Bureau Award from the American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) for her work in the 116th Congress. This award recognizes lawmakers whose voting records demonstrate unwavering support for our nation’s agricultural industry and requires nomination by their respective state Farm Bureaus.

“Congresswoman Luria supports agriculture and farmers not only vocally and by listening to the needs of farmers, but by voting to support agriculture on vital issues,” said Wayne F. Pryor, President of Virginia Farm Bureau Federation. “We truly appreciate Rep. Luria for being a friend to the farmers of Virginia, especially at a time when the farm economy is challenged, and farmers are struggling.”

“In Coastal Virginia, farmers are integral to the health of our regional economy,” said Congresswoman Elaine Luria. “It is an honor to earn the Friend of Farm Bureau Award and champion the cause of Coastal Virginia’s hardworking farmers and agricultural producers. I will continue to support policies that enable our agriculture industry to thrive.”

Since taking office in January 2019, Congresswoman Elaine Luria has championed legislation to protect Coastal Virginia’s farmers and agricultural producers. Last December, she supported the House’s passage of the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) Implementation Act. The USMCA trade agreement will create a $2.2 billion increase in American agricultural exports. She also supported the Farm Workforce Modernization Act, which would help Coastal Virginia’s agricultural industry by implementing reforms that aim to address scarcities in labor. 

Congresswoman Elaine Luria represents Virginia’s 2nd Congressional District. She serves on the House Armed Services Committee, where she is the Vice Chair of the Seapower and Projection Forces Subcommittee, and the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, where she serves as Chair of the Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs Subcommittee.