ICYMI: Congresswoman Luria, Problem Solvers Caucus, and Senate Partners Unveil Bipartisan, Bicameral 4-Month COVID-19 Emergency Relief Package

December 3, 2020
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congresswoman Luria joined her colleagues in the Problem Solvers Caucus and a bipartisan group of Senators in announcing a four-month bipartisan, bicameral COVID-19 emergency relief framework that will prioritize support for families, students, small businesses, and health care providers.

“Eight months after the CARES Act became law, the COVID-19 pandemic continues to devastate families and small businesses across our nation,” said Congresswoman Elaine Luria. “Congress must do its job by finding common ground and putting forth a realistic COVID-19 relief package. I am encouraged by this framework that presents the viable and bipartisan proposals our communities need during this unprecedented public health emergency and economic crisis.”


Click on the image above to watch Congresswoman Luria speak about the COVID-19 emergency relief framework.

The framework consists of $908 billion in aid and includes relief in the following key categories:

  • $288 billion for Paycheck Protection Program (PPP)
  • $160 billion for state and local governments
  • $180 billion for additional unemployment insurance
  • $82 billion for education funding
  • $25 billion for Healthcare Provider Relief Fund
  • $25 billion in housing assistance
  • $10 billion for dedicated broadband funding

Congresswoman Luria is a member of the Problem Solvers Caucus, which is a bipartisan group in Congress comprised of 50 members, equally comprised of Democrats and Republicans, who are committed to forging bipartisan cooperation on key issues.

Congresswoman Elaine Luria represents Virginia’s 2nd Congressional District. She serves on the House Armed Services Committee, where she is the Vice Chair of the Seapower and Projection Forces Subcommittee, and the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs, where she serves as Chair of the Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs Subcommittee.